Saturday, January 07, 2012

Firelight by Sophie Jordan

Firelight (Firelight, #1) 

by Sophie Jordan

Rating: 4.5 Stars
Released: September 7, 2010 
Published by: Harper Collins
ISBN-10: 0061935085 • ISBN-13: 978-0061935084

Available now at: • •


Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet of her kind, she nearly pays with her life, only to be spared by a beautiful stranger sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki--a descendant of dragons whose ability to shift into human form is her best defense.

Forced to flee into the mortal world, Jacinda struggles to adapt. The one bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irrestibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away - if it dies she will be left a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and irresistible passion ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide ...
I love this series! I only wish she wrote longer books! This is such a refreshing change with the idea of dragon/human descendants. There are some very interesting questions brought up throughout the book. It gives a feel of Romeo and Juliet meets Anne McCaffrey. If you loved Twilight, Unearthly, The Iron King or Hush Hush, you need to read this series. 

The second book Vanish, was released September 6, 2011. The final book in the series, Hidden was released in 2012.