Saturday, June 27, 2015

Scorched by Jennifer L. Armentrout - 5 star snack size review



Scorched (Frigid, #2)
By: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published: June 16, 2015 by Spencer Hill Press
Genres: NA/New Adult, College Life, Abuse, Recovery, Mental Issues, Contemporary Romance, Gritty, 


Overview:
Sometimes life leaves a mark…

Most days, Andrea doesn’t know whether she wants to kiss Tanner or punch him in the gut. He is seriously hot, with legit bedroom eyes and that firefighter body of his, but he’s a major player, and they can’t get along for more than a handful of minutes. Until now.

Tanner knows he and Andrea have had an epic love/hate relationship for as long as he can remember, but he wants more love than hate from her. He wants her. Now. Tomorrow. But the more he gets to know her, the more it becomes obvious that Andrea has a problem. She’s teetering on the edge and every time he tries to catch her, she slips through his fingers.

Andrea’s life is spiraling out of control, and it doesn’t matter that Tanner wants to save her, because when everything falls apart and she’s speeding toward rock bottom, only she can save herself.

Sometimes life makes you work for that happily ever after…
 


REVIEW:
JLA delved into dark and troubling waters in Scorched. There are a lot of issues at play, and the characters are trying to puzzle together what the specific issues are and how to deal with them. I don't want to give away any spoilers, but this is a rich and gritty nose dive deep into the hearts of people suffering from things they think is way beyond their control, but could manage if they faced truths and took the first step. 


The relationships are complicated, the dialogue dense and authentic, the pace is realistic and the tone is natural. Jennifer uses her unique brand of wit, quips and internal musings to genuinely envelope the reader into each character's inner thoughts. 

This story is about as real as it gets without it actually happening to you.

Excellent and moving. Longer Review Coming.

One Bite Quicky Review: #Selfie by Cambria Hebert


#Selfie (The Hashtag Series, book 4)
By: Cambria Hebert

  

Published: March 9, 2015
Genres: NA, College, Recovery, Dating, Drinking, Abuse, Sports, Humor, Contemporary Romance, Family Issues, Sexual & Other Abuse, Social Issues, Texting


Overview:
It’s all about the #Selfie.

She was the one girl I never wanted.

Until I had her.

One night.

One mistake.

Something we both wanted to forget.

I got rid of the proof. The one piece of evidence that could remind us both.

At least, I thought I did.

When it shows up on the school Buzzfeed, rumors fly. Friendships are tested and the feels get real.

I don’t do relationships. I don’t open my heart.

Especially for a girl everyone knows I hate.

What happens during spring break, stays in spring break.

Until it follows you home.

Genres: 
This series just keeps getting better and better. That simple statement is not one that I use all that often as many series go soft after the first installment. Hebert keeps it fresh, while tying it all to the previous books. She has a finesse about her writing, an innate ability to know when to inject humor and balance incredibly deep and troubling subjects. It made me grateful that she touches on the harsh and sometimes evil side of social media and the severe bullying that it causes. There are other topics I don't want to really spoil for you, so I'll just say she handles it truthfully and skillfully. 

I am beyond excited for book five.

Longer review coming.

5 Stars Quick Bite Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West


The Fill-In Boyfriend
By: Kasie West
Published by: Harper Teen
Released: May 5, 2015

Genres: YA, High School, Social Issues, Relationships, Contemporary Romance, Humor

Overview:
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.
--------
Review: 
I have fallen completely in love with Kasie West and her novels. No matter what the genre, the storyline, the plot, West captivates and engages her readers. In a nutshell, when I pick up one of her books, I sit down, get comfy and hear Jean-Luc Picard's luscious voice say, "Engage" in my head. Everytime. Yes, I am a sci-fy geek but I digress. 



This book lived up to her high writing standards. Complex characters written in a digestible format. Don't get me wrong, it's not fluff but conversational. My favorite kind of style. 



You will love this tale. I wanted to beat the MC over the head with their own book early on, but do not fret, for West develops and matures her characters like the finest wines. Gia irritated me like a tub of sand where the sun doesn't shine but she grew on me and blossomed. There are some real life lessons to be learned from the situations she gets herself into. Everybody will get dumped. Everyone will feel insecure. And everyone will learn one way or the other who their real friends are and what is most important in their relationships. 

Real. Organic. Witty. Interesting. Surprisingly deep.

Bravo.



A Court of Thorns and Roses 5 star snack size review


A Court of Thorns and Roses 
by: Sarah J. Maas

Published: May 5, 2015 by Bloomsbury Children's

Genres: Fairy Tale Retellings, YA, Suspense, Fae, Paranormal, Good vs Evil, Magic, Fantasy, Action



Overview:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Snack Size Review:
Break out the minions for this one...


An incredible, fantastic retelling of a tale stuffed with determination, discovery and growth. This was beyond excellent. Gripping, deliciously taunting and undeniably deep, this book will make you hug your blanket, grab your tissues and pump fist the air. I need a sequel.